Membership

  1. Upon the approval of the Cooperative board of Directors, a person can become a member of Qurtuba Housing Co-op by:
    • Submitting the Qurtuba application Form
    • Paying $75.00 Membership Fee
    • Acquiring a minimum of 20 shares of a fixed value of $100 each that means, a minimum investment of $2000;
    • If you have RSP account and want to use it to buy home, you must transfer it to "Al-Amin" organisation
  2. Homebuyer member shall buy some shares in each calendar year in order to keep his membership active.
  3. Type "B" Shares can be sold or transferred any time to any active member of the Housing Cooperative pending prior approval of the Cooperative board of Directors

Dividends

All members will be elligible for getting dividends or a rebate on their shares as long as they are not taking benefit of a housing unit. Members can choose to invest the dividend by buying new shares or to withdraw these dividends.

Eligibility for housing allocation

Member must have shares equivalent to 20% of the first $100,000 of the house price and 30% of the difference between $100,000 and the actual price of the house up to $200,000. For more information about the rent calculation, here's the link.

When necessary funds are available, notice will be sent to the member with the highest priority to choose a suitable housing unit. If the member is not ready to buy a house within a reasonable lead time, the priority will be given to the next member in the priority list.

The board of director will review the member application for the house, upon approval, the cooperative will buy the house for the benefit of the member. The member will occupy the house that will remain the property of the cooperative until final transfer to the member.

Occupancy, maintenance & occupancy charges

Once the cooperative has purchased the housing unit for the benefit of the member, the member will surrender all type B shares to the cooperative and the cooperative will issue type A shares of equal value to the member. Type A shares are not eligible for dividends.

An occupancy agreement will be drawn between the coop and the member.

The housing coop will establish the "Monthly Rental Value" (MRV) of the housing unit on the basis of rental/lease rate of a similar house in similar area. All taxes and expenses for the property will be deducted from this rent and the balance will be split between the member and the Coop according to the member's shares of the total investment.

Disposition

If a member after occupying the house unit will have to vacate it, the member will have to inform the Coop at least 90 days before such move. The housing unit will be evaluated by the Coop and made available to eligible members.

If no member is interested in that housing unit, or if no member can take over the housing unit within the stipulated time, the occupant member will be given the permission to arrange a sale of the housing unit to non-members.

If the member owns shares valued at 50% or more of the housing unit cost, he will be entitled to 90% of any given gain or loss in the value at time of sale. If member's shares value is less than 50%, the member will still be entitled to 80% of any gain or loss in value at time of sale.

Money withdraw

A member can redeem his type "B" shares anytime by giving one month notice for the first $10,000 and additional month notice for each block of $10,000. The maximum notice required is 18 months.

Adhésion

  1. Sur l'approbation du conseil d'administration coopératif, une personne peut devenir un membre de la Cooperative d'Habitation Qurtuba après:
    • avoir soumis du formulaire de demande à Qurtuba.
    • avoir payé des honoraires de 75$ adhésions.
    • avoir acquis 20 actions au minimum, d'une valeur fixe de 100$ qui signifie un investissement minimum de 2000$.
    • Si vous avez le compte de RÉER et voulez l'utiliser pour acheter la maison, vous devez la transférer à l'organisation "Al-Amin"
  2. Le membre qui désire obtenir une maison devra acheter quelques actions chaque année afin de maintenir son adhésion active.
  3. Les actions de type "B" peuvent être vendues ou transférées n'importe quand à n'importe quel membre actif du logement coopératif en attendant l'approbation préalable du conseil d'administration coopératif.

Dividendes

Tous les membres seront éligibles pour obtenir des dividendes ou une remise sur leurs actions tant que ils ne prennent pas l'avantage d'un logement. Les membres peuvent choisir d'investir leurs dividendes en achetant de nouvelles actions ou de retirer ces dividendes.

Éligibilité pour l'achat d'une maison

Le membre doit avoir des actions équivalentes à 20% des premiers 100 000$ du prix de logement et 30% de la différence entre 100 000$ et le prix réel de la maison jusqu'à 200 000$. Allez sur le lien suivant pour plus de d├ętails concernant les calculs de loyer.

Quand les fonds nécessaires sont disponibles, une notification sera envoyée au membre ayant la priorité la plus élevée de choisir un logement approprié. Si le membre n'est pas prêt à acheter une maison dans un délai raisonnable, la priorité sera accordée au prochain membre dans la liste prioritaire.

Le conseil d'administration passera en revue la demande de membre pour une maison, et sur l'approbation, la coopérative achètera la maison au profit du membre. Le membre occupera la maison qui restera la propriété de la coopérative jusqu'au tout dernier paiement du membre.

L'occupation, la maintenance et les paiements

Une fois que la coopérative ait acheté la maison au profit du membre, le membre rendra toutes les actions de type "B" pour des actions de type "A" de valeur équivalente. Prenez note que les actions de type "A" n'ont pas habilité aux dividendes.

Un accord d'occupation sera dessiné entre la coopérative et le membre.

Qurtuba établira la valeur de location mensuel (MRV) du logement sur la base du taux de location d'une maison semblable dans le secteur semblable. Tous les impôts et dépenses pour la propriété seront déduits de ce loyer et l'équilibre sera dédoublé entre le membre et la coopérative selon les actions du membre de tout l'investissement.

Disposition

Si un membre après l'occupation de l'unité de maison devra s'en débarasser pour quelconque raison, le membre devra informer la coopérative au moins 90 jours avant un tel mouvement. Le logement sera évaluée par la coopérative et rendue disponible aux membres éligibles.

Si aucun membre n'est intéressé par cette maison, ou si aucun membre ne peut assurer celle-ci dans le temps stipulé, le membre d'occupant se verra donné la permission d'arranger une vente de la maison aux non-membres.

Si le membre possède des actions évaluées à 50% ou plus du coût du logement, il aura droit à 90% de n'importe quel gain ou perte donné en valeur durant la période de la vente. Si la valeur des actions du membre est de moins de 50%, le membre aura droit toujours à 80% de n'importe quel gain ou perte en valeur à la période de la vente.

Retrait d'argent

Un membre peut racheter ses actions de type "B" n'importe quand en donnant un préavis mensuel pour le premier 10 000$ et un préavis mensuel additionnel pour chaque bloc de 10 000$. La notification maximum exigée est de 6 mois.